Skip to content

Tornado victims can apply for disaster assistance

From left, George Swan, Walthall Emergency Operations; MEMA personnel, Stacey Copeland and Jerry Harvey as applications were first being accepted Monday at the Disaster Assistance Center set up at the old armory off Hwy 27 South. Workers said four applicants were approved within less than an hour of opening.

Walthall county residents can now apply for federal disaster assistance under FEMA’s Individuals and Households Program for uninsured damages and losses as a result of the severe storms, tornados, straight-line winds, and flooding on April 12.
Walthall was among several other counties added to the disaster declaration signed by the President on April 16, along with other counties previously designated for FEMA disaster assistance under the Individual Assistance program.
Those who received damage from the April 12 severe storms may register for assistance at the Walthall County Emergency Operations Center, the old armory, on Hwy. 27 South, Monday through Friday from 8 a.m.-5 p.m., and Saturday, from 8 a.m. until noon. The center is closed Sunday.
When registering, the following information is helpful to have on hand:
-Address of the location where the damage occurred (pre-disaster address).
-Current mailing address.
-Current telephone number.
-Insurance information.
-Total household annual income.
-Routing and account number for checking or savings account (this allows FEMA to directly transfer disaster assistance funds into a bank account).
-A description of disaster-caused damage and losses.
Disaster assistance through the federal government is designed to help survivors move their recovery forward by providing grants for basic repairs to make their home safe, accessible and secure. FEMA assistance also may provide temporary help with a place for survivors and their family to stay while you create your own recovery plan, if your damaged home is inaccessible or uninhabitable.
You may also register online at:

Leave a Comment