Skip to content

At close of qualifying 40 file to run in 2023 election; 6 have no opposition

At the close of the 5 p.m. qualifying deadline Feb. 1, a total of 40 candidates had filed to run for county or county district offices. Party candidates will run in the August primaries. Independents and non-partisan candidates will run in the November general election along with the party primary winners.
Six candidates made it through the qualification period without attracting opposition. Sheriff Kyle Breland, District 2 Justice Court Judge Ryan Bruhl, Coroner Christopher Blackwell, District 3 Supervisor Doug Popwell, District 2 Election Commissioner Ricky Dowell and District 4 Election Commissioner Christy Alford had no opponents and will return to office in 2024.
One candidate, Brad Dunaway, withdrew from the District 1 Constable’s race, making that office a three-man race.
Here is the final listing of offices and candidates:
Chancery Clerk–Shannon Fortinberry (D) and Jasper Howard (R); Circuit Clerk–Dan “Nut” Hawn (R), Hollis Gatlin (D), Vernon Alford (D); Tax Collector/Assessor–Jason Duane Dillon (D), Carla Johnson (D), Kaleigh Dyar (D);
County Prosecutor–Jenna Holmes (R), Kurt Mord (I); Justice Court Judge District 1–Carl Montgomery Jr. (D), Prencess Dawson (I); Supervisor District 1–Larry Montgomery (D), Danie Holmes (D), Roger Ginn (R), Rayfus Hewitt (D, Tim Leggett (I), Oliver Bates (D), Dale Brock (I); Supervisor District 2–Sherman Smith (D), Ken Craft (D);
Supervisor District 4–Byran “Bird” Martin (R), Jack Hartley (D), Lynn Harvey (D), Mark A. Planche (R), Michael Street (R); Supervisor District 5–Lloyd Bullock (D), Billy Bridges (D), Donnie Smith (D);
Constable District 1–Jeremy Turner (D), Frederick Magee Jr (D), Rodney Magee (D); Constable District 2–Joe Michael Williams (D), Roy Jene Huhn (D).

Leave a Comment