Skip to content

County COVID cases rise by 61; deaths by two in week

As of Dec. 13, at 6 p.m. Walthall County reported 877 total cases of COVID-19 since the pandemic began in mid-March and a total of 32 deaths in the county.
That’s an increase of 51 cases and two deaths since the previous week’s report on Dec. 6.
Statewide the total number of cases since mid-March has risen to 181,095. The latest total shows 4204 Mississippians have died from the disease.
Due to rapidly rising COVID-19 cases, all residents of Mississippi should avoid any social gathering that includes individuals outside of the immediate family or household, according to State Health Officer Dr. Alton Cobb. Mississippi State Department of Health recommends that Mississippians only participate in work, school or other absolutely essential activities, and avoid gatherings such as social events, sporting events, in-person church services, and weddings and funerals unless they involve only close family (preferably outdoors).
Combined with social distancing, face coverings are highly effective at preventing COVID-19 transmission to others and to yourself. Face covering is especially important when a distance of at least 6 feet cannot easily be maintained between persons.
Wear a mask or cloth face covering whenever you are around others who do not live with you. Wear a non-medical-grade cloth mask, either manufactured or one you make yourself, when shopping, running errands, or otherwise away from home. A face shield is not an effective substitute for a mask.
Masks are required in schools statewide: The Governor has ordered masks to be worn outdoors on school grounds and inside school buildings statewide at all times until Jan.15, 2021.
Masks required indoors for selected counties: The Governor has ordered masks to be worn indoors in all businesses and places open to the public until Jan. 15, 2021 for residents of the following counties: Adams, Alcorn, Amite, Attala, Bolivar, Calhoun, Carroll, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Clarke, Clay, Coahoma, Copiah, Covington, De Soto, Forrest, Franklin, Grenada, Harrison, Hinds, Holmes, Itawamba, Jackson, Jefferson, Jefferson Davis, Jones, Kemper, Lafayette, Lamar, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Lee, Leflore, Lincoln, Lowndes, Madison, Marion, Marshall, Monroe, Montgomery, Neshoba, Noxubee, Oktibbeha, Panola, Pearl River, Perry, Pontotoc, Prentiss, Rankin, Scott, Simpson, Stone, Tate, Tippah, Tishomingo, Union, Washington, Webster, Winston, Yalobusha and Yazoo.
The list may be updated at any time
While Walthall is not currently under a Governor’s mandate, local officials strongly advise the wearing of face masks in public and the observance of social distancing guidelines.

Leave a Comment